The best things usually come in two’s and that stands true with the creators of Chalk + Dot. C+ D was started Brieanne and Erica, who met in architecture school, moved to the bay area, and now enjoy sharing their inspiration for modern finds for the modern family in our spare time. In addition to have a great blog, they also offer their services for creating custom nursery mood boards, designing services, graphic design and photography. I was lucky enough to have a chance to get to know Brieanne better and do a quick Q & A to share. She is funny, nice and creative.

1. What is Chalk + Dot about? Why did you decide to start this website?

chalk + dot is about “Modern Finds for the Modern Family.” We want to help people find affordable modern (and green) design for themselves and their nursery. Through DIY projects, mood boards, announcement/invitation design, we want to provide a place where people can come for all things modern baby. We also hope to start sharing anecdotes and stories from modern moms, dads, and families about the ins and outs of being a parent.

{Her Family}

When my sister got pregnant, I started doing nursery design research and found most resources concentrated heavily on pastel and traditional design, or it was super expensive stuff. When Erica got pregnant and she ran into the same thing, our wheels got to turning. We had our first project together with her baby shower invites and that’s when it all got started. I also got some external encouragement from my friend Crosby who pointed out that if there’s a need out there, why not be the one to fulfill it, or at least contribute? We decided we’d also offer custom nursery design services, graphic design services, and maternity portraits and voila.

2. What is your background?

I graduated from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo with a bachelor of architecture degree and having been working in architecture firms since I graduated.

{Their nursery}

3. What has been the most challenging element of your new business?

Finding time! I work at an architecture firm by day, and then try maintain the blog on nights and weekends. Between the announcements and wedding save-the-dates we’ve been hired to do and the blog, I’ve been pretty zapped time-wise.

4. Favorite room/inspiration board you have created?

Hmm…we haven’t done that many yet, but I think anchors away is my favorite so far. I’ve been into the sailor thing lately. I also really love the tangerine one we just did. It ended up much cuter that I had imagined it would. Has a sort of retro-modern feel (to me at least).

5. What is most important when choosing a nursery theme?

Choose a theme that appeals to you with baby in mind. Design a space that speaks to you and makes you want to spend time in there since you will be spending a lot of time in there…at all hours of the day…and night…

6. What inspire you?

Photo adventures, art museums, exploring new places/cities, Paris Paris Paris (I spent a year there and it stole my heart), my niece and nephew, well designed objects/places, warm summer nights (they’re magical).

{i love this photo}

7. What is your favorite part of chalk + dot?

I love having a creative outlet, and I love being involved in people’s lives during such an exciting time for them (having a baby). The maternity photos are always fun, because I get to see the progression and growth. It’s rewarding to share in the special moments and be able to document it for the growing family.

8. Words you live by?

There are tons of inspirational words I could quote, but truthfully I’d say the two mantras I most often find myself repeating are prepared for the worst, but hope for the best, and the ten-year rule–in 10 years is this going to matter to me?

Wow. Those make me seem pretty pessimistic.

Oh, and don’t take life too seriously. It’s easy to do, but life is much more enjoyable with a touch of whimsy.

9. Favorite book?

Okay, I’m bad at making decisions and choosing favorites, if you haven’t figured this out by now.

Favorite in recent years: Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese and The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Favorites from childhood: Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie and No Flying in the House by Betty Brock

Can I just say on a sidenote how much I love books? I love being mentally transported…reading is the way I relax and release.