My coworker is heading to Paris next month so I have been doing a little research for her but it is making desperate to travel to Paris myself! I was there two years ago and fell in love with the city. It is beautiful city filled with so much history, art, culture and inspiration. Sadly, I must take an internet vacation rather than a real one.  

Hotel/Hostel  

Oops Hostel – This mid priced hostel is located in the middle of three villages: Moufftard, Chinatown and the Latin Quarter areas. This area has a great night life as well as cafes, bars, parks and galleries.  

  

{Location}  

  

  

  

Mama Shelter -Located on the Right Bank in the 20th which is one of Paris’s most up-and-coming areas.  This area has both a old and new world Paris, the popular indie-rock bar La Flèche d’Or is across the street and the Edith Piaf Museum is just on the other side of the cemetery.  

An added bonus – Alain Senderens (Culinary Star!) runs the kitchen!  

  

{Location}  

  

  

  

  

Shopping  

My Favorite shop in Paris, Colette!  

The store has become internationally known for their specialization in pop culture, fashion, design and exhibitions. While shopping at Colette, you can find brands like Lanvin, Moncler as well as street brands such as Bathing Ape, various obscure magazines, an extensive music selection and rotating exhibitions.  

  

  

  

  

Food 

 L’entrecote (Steak House) – This restaurant may look a little  kitschy  but I would never steer you wrong. L’entrecote serves only steak, fries and wine (at least that is all I have had) for a good price. I would recommend to get their early becuase there is always a line. 

 

Disclaimer – Even though I adore this restaurant, I am sure there are better steak houses. That being said L’entrecote is still a Paris staple in my book. 

 L’As du Falafel – located in  Rue des Rosiers. THis is probably one of the best falafel sandwiches I have ever had. The pita is piled high with  super-crisp falafel, creamy hummus, lightly pickled red cabbage, salted cucumbers, fried eggplant and just-hot-enough harissa.  Be prepared for a line that moves quickly.  

 

  

Okay, all fun aside, I love Paris. I have been lucky enough to travel to France a few times with my family (thank you mom & dad) over the years. I have learned a lot about the culture and things that I like to do when I am there. I would reccommend to do the following: 

1. Try to go to every museum – there are so many that  it can be difficult but on my most recent trip, we went to the Palais de Tokyo and Musee de la Mode as well as many other small galleries. 

{Palais de Tokyo}  

 {Musee de la Mode}   

2. Eat, eat and drink. Munch on some great bread and cheese with a glass of wine.   

 

3. Shop!! This is my favorite past time. There are so many shops and department stores. Go to Louvre-Tuileries and Faubourg Saint-Honoré for high-end designers, The Marais area for more unique shopping and definitely go to Saint-Ouen Flea Market

  

{Faubourg Saint-Honoré}   

  

{Marais Area}   

  

{Saint-Ouen Flea Market}   

I am so inspired to travel that I bought these cute French flash cards to refresh my memory.
 Happy Travels from Widespread! 

